Any foreigner seeking to enter the United Republic of Tanzania is subject to the following entry requirements:

A passport or Travel Document which is valid for not less than six months issued by a State or an International Organization recognized by the Government of the United Republic of Tanzania and
that, he is a holder of or his name is endorsed upon a Residence Permit or a Pass  issued in accordance with the provisions of the Immigration Act No. 7 of 1995; or
 A valid Visa (for nationals whose country require visa) which is obtained at any Tanzania Mission abroad or on arrival at any designated entry points.

Note: Upon complying with the entry requirements, a bonafide visitor is issued with a Visitor's Pass on arrival at the entry point into the United Republic of Tanzania for a validity not exceeding three months in first instance (and not exceeding six months for citizens of East African Community), provided that he is in possession of sufficient funds for subsistence while in the United Republic of Tanzania and a Return ticket or onward to ticket to his country of origin, domicile or destination as the case may be.


Purpose of Visa

A Visa is a permission granted to a foreigner other than a prohibited Immigrant to enter and remain in the United Republic of Tanzania for the purpose of visit, leisure, holiday, business, health treatment, studies, or any other activity which is not illegal under the Laws of the United Republic of Tanzania.

Note: It should be noted that the possession of Visa is not a final authority to enter the United Republic of Tanzania. The Immigration Officer at the entry point may refuse such a person permission to enter if he is satisfied that he is unable to fulfill immigration entry requirements and that the presence of such person/visitor in the United Republic of Tanzania would be contrary to the national interests.


A Visa may be obtained at any United Republic of Tanzania Missions abroad or Consulates and also on arrival at all designated Entry Points. In case of Referral and Multiple   Visas applicants are required to submit their applications to the office of the Principal Commissioner of Immigration Services Dar es Salaam or at the office of the Commissioner of Immigration Services Zanzibar.


Standard fee rate for Ordinary Visa is US $ 50, for Multiple Entry Visa is US $ 100 and for Transit visa is US $ 30. However a different fee may be set in accordance with the rules guiding Visa issuance or on the basis of reciprocity. 

Note: Visa fees are payable at Issuing Centers and an Exchequer Receipt should be provided for the payment made.


1. Julius Nyerere International airport
2. Amani Abeid Karume International Airport
3. Kilimanjaro International Airport
4. Mwanza Airport
5. Zanzibar Sea port
6. Horohoro
7. Holili
8. Tarakea
9. Namanga
10. Sirari
11. Mtukula
12. Rusumo
13. Kabanga
14. Manyovu
15. Kigoma Port
16. Tunduma
17. Kasumulu
18. Kasesya
19. Kilambo
20. Dar Es Salaam Head quarters
21. Zanzibar Head office
22. Wete Sea port
23. Angola –Luanda
24. Belgium-Brussels
25. Brazil-Brasilia
26. Burundi-Bujumbura
27. Canada-Ottawa
28. China –Beijing
29. Democratic Republic of Congo-Kinshasa
30. Egypt-Cairo
31. Ethiopia-Addis Ababa
32. France-Paris
33. Germany-Berlin
34. India-New Delhi
35. Italy –Rome
36. Japan –Tokyo
37. Kenya-Nairobi
38. Malaysia-Kuala Lumpur
39. Mozambique-Maputo
40. Namibia-Windhoek
41. Netherlands-Hague
42. Netherlands-Rotterdam
43. Nigeria-Abuja
44. Oman-Muscat
45. Republic of south Africa-Pretoria
46. Russia-Moscow
47. Rwanda –Kigali
48. Saudi Arabia –Riyadh
49. Sweden –Stockholm
50. Switzerland-Geneva
51. Uganda –Kampala
52. United Arab Emirates-Abu Dhabi
53. United Kingdom-London
54. United States of America-New York
55. United states of America-Washington
56. Zambia-Lusaka
57. Zimbabwe-Harare